#2016Books Update 6

I finished Doerr on Thursday and started on Jhumpa Lahiri’s Lowland right after.

The Doerr was semi-autobiographical and felt strange at times because I could tell she was writing Mexico for people like herself (a certain class, a certain race, a certain nationality) and it could be alienating at times. That said, it was a fairly good read and there was a particularly haunting story.

Lahiri, oh Lahiri. The book was a gift from KWR & I love new books (and stationery. Many thanks to Roo who gifted one a TBC voucher) by authors I have enjoyed in the past. The story is so gripping and it rises and falls in ways that may soon turn me into the stereotypical bookworm child. Maybe it already has: eating, walking, waiting, falling asleep with it in my hands.

This will be an interesting book week. Keep reading!