Thinking of friendship

Today was a magical day with three of my friends. A conversation with one of them after the trip (which I’ll talk about over at the travel blog) led me to think about the nature of friendship.

One of the things I have been through this year is learning how to say no and letting go of friendships. Both of these acts can be hard for me; both are incredibly essential.

Letting go of some friendships can be hard but one may find it frees you to be more with yourself, your friends, your pursuits. Today happened because of those two things: saying no (so I could continue to say yes to the trip) and letting go of friends (so I can make room for new ones and enrich existent ones) and I felt vindicated.
Whatever it is you want from friendship, analyse yourself and the relationships you are in. The things you find out may surprise you.

Note: This post is part of #CuminWrites366, my year-long attempt to write a post a day. Find the rest over at readability.com/cuminwrites/

Questions, comments, suggestions or further thoughts on friendship? Send them to cuminwrites@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

