Remembering Lomu

When Jonah Lomu became a sensation, I lived in a household that had little time for sport. Over the years that followed, I was drawn into the magic that was the great rugby player.

When Brian Habana was mentioned in the same breath as Lomu, it felt like listening to a story about two of my friends. I had moments of near obsession fed by the internet as I watched footage of them play at different tournaments.

One of them is now dead but his legacy will surely live on. I am glad to have watched him play, do the haka, be amazing.

Fare thee well, Jonah Lomu. 💕💕💕

Note: This post is part of #CuminWrites366, my year-long attempt to write a post a day. Find the rest over at readability.com/cuminwrites/

Questions, comments, suggestions or Lomu memories? Send them to cuminwrites@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

