Moving, love

My dad cleared out the house I have lived in for the last 5.5 years today……………….and the one I love has decided to open up his heart to me. OK……………that’s the essence of a relationship, right?

So, no more home in West Nairobi. I could always go to my aunt’s  but the prospect is a lot of things…….none of which is appealing………….she has small children, she’d be all up in my business…..I just want to be with my family, not a replacement………

I took two of my housemates and the boyfriend of one of them as I went to the flat to pick the last of my things (I moved out in the middle of this month) and they ended up helping us pack. Especially Mr Boyfriend……..guess that is what devotion to one’s girlfriend leads to. He got home about 4 hours after his people expected him. And because of him, I got to drive in a strange area………at night (Where is my dad? The one that would *never* let me drive at night sometime? Oh, sorry, that’s my mother………..)

When the girls and I went back to town, we went to the 24 hour store and bought random edibles. We drove into the hostel a few minutes before the curfew. I went to get my printer from the flat today…………and took photos (which camera I can’t find at the moment) as I said goodbye to the flat where I first fell in love. With Oxford, travel, boys, blogs……………………………..the one I love.

Yes, him…the moment we have all been waiting for. Mr Man inboxed me yesterday (inboxed: English used by Facebook users. Translation: Sent a message). On which note, I cannot believe he and I have been having a Facebook relationship (inbox-wise)………..I’m so happy I have de-activated my account……I would have disgusted myself if we had morphed into those couples that are always posting on each other’s walls and about each other in their stati (plural of status), but I digress.

He inboxes to say he has issues sticking with something ‘lest he gets attached’ and that he has a feeling that after he is through doing all those random things he will do, he shall be alone. I let that message sit in my inbox, gnawing away at me like a festering wound. He said *what*??!! Ha ha ha…….quite some way to start a relationship, Mr Man! ‘I think I’m going to be alone’ + ‘lest I get attached’=some round about way of saying ‘I’m not going to be here for you’  ha ha ha ha ha!!!!

When I am shocked, I laugh. But really, I told him I would be here when he was through. A benign way of saying, “If you want to get rid of me using the ‘I have issues of commitment’…………….it won’t succeed.” He called me later in the night to talk (24 hours after I had tried calling him, ahem!) and we had a very awkward conversation…………… I had been calling to tell him how I missed him and wished he was there with me (at Mr Boyfriend’s room) instead of the guy that was there. Good looking and effeminate, yes, but not the one I love. I felt like crying when the phone was not picked…………….but maybe that’s life.

I told my friend and a mutual friend about my ‘He’s trying to tell me something’ thoughts. My friend maybe the two of us over-analyse things. And he said I have probably read too much into our relationship. Whatever anyway…………………….. I’m just curious about how this whole boyfriend business shall end.