Pining

I am not one to pine for things gone…..they are gone, I think, deal with it…………jeez!!!

Today I met these two girls who were a year behind me in high school. As we spoke, one of them reiterated that it was important to get something back if you were providing the service that is sex in a relationship. “That is not why I have sex,” the other replies. Oh, but X, it emerges, works hard for her money (X, girl not currently involved in conversation)…..wink wink, nudge nudge, poke poke.

Considering the liberal use of the f-word (I am no prude but, umm……), I asked that the topic be changed, please. Why, we are only talking about having sex, they protest. Don’t you? I never have, I say…….(trust me when I say……..) What are you, a virgin? Yes.

Here’s the twist: There I was expecting ridicule from these girls (oh, snap! You are a virgin! My life!) But that is not what I got……….(unless you consider admiration of the pacifist by the warmongers a call to arms……..) What I got was: Stay that way….we wish we could get it back……………oh wow, unexpected response that!

Does it make sense to wish what is never was? Especially in relation to virginity………though a smart comment was made when I sang a song (“Don’t sing that, you might be raped…..and it will be worse for you than us because you have something……”) I took a virginity pledge in high school and shall wait for my husband…………………….I would be lying if I said it wasn’t fraught with temptation…….but the beauty of not giving yourself to the one(s) you love is that there is all of you to love when your one true love enters your life (I sound like a virginity pledge pre-pledge pep talk person, ha ha..)

We all have a choice: Keep it and don’t be all out advertising (“I’m a virgin this….when you make a choice…………”) to those who couldn’t be bothered OR Lose it and don’t be all out pining for it (“Och, lovey, wish I could have it back…”) Once it’s gone, deal with it.

In case no one told you;

It’s NOT coming back…….

Leave a Reply

